Most pages have help and instructions on them for the task at hand. On the main learning interface, see also the 'Tips' button or 'Help' section for more help.
You can also leave a message on the Website Help Group to get help from other users.
Other help topics:
Use the menu in the top right to access your personalised features. Below are some shortcuts to other features:
What time zone does this site use?
(Or - why aren't my streaks working properly?)
The site use UTC / GMT (Greenwich Mean Time) for everything. Unfortunately, there isn't really a good alternative.
In more detail: Firstly, there is no way for us to automatically detect your time zone, and most people are not interested in putting that information in. Secondly, if we allow a setting, we would have to cope with people changing their setting, and at this point it becomes extremely complicated: if you change your timezone, you would have to remember to do it immediately, and we would have to keep track of not just your current time zone but the complete history of every time you changed it, otherwise your streaks - including your past streaks which you have already achieved - would be calculated incorrectly.
Can I delete or deactivate my account?
Because of the way that activities on the site are public (as indicated on the site), and interact with other people (e.g. comments, awards etc.), we cannot fully delete accounts without damaging other peoples' experiences. Your interactions with other people belong to them as much as to you.
If you do not want to use your account, simply stop using it - we do not send you email notifications or anything similar if you stop using the site.
However, if necessary we can delete your account if you request it. Your personal identifiable information will be removed from our database, and your profile page will be deleted. Not all traces of your account will be removed: news items and comments relating to your activity will remain, but with your user name replaced by '[Deleted]'. An account cannot be undeleted.
How do I stop learning verses?
When the verse comes up for review and is presented to you for learning, from the Options button menu to the right of the verse reference, choose ‘Stop learning this’. Your progress will still be saved should you decide to come back to it. You can also choose ‘Reset progress’ to start from the beginning.
How do I review something when it’s not on my dashboard?
LearnScripture.net calculates a review schedule for you automatically based on the principle of spaced repetition. But if you do want to review something outside of that, you can do so from your verse progress page.
I didn’t get my ‘recruiter’ badge!
The recruiter badge only works using the method described in the referral program. If it hasn’t worked, we're sorry that we won't be able to fix it up any other way, as we don't have the resources to know what actually happened.
This ESV verse is different from my copy of the ESV...
There are various editions of the ESV available, both in printed copies and online, with slight differences between. The one we use is from an online service provided by ESV, which is sometimes different from what you can find on esvbible.org and we are not allowed to update it.
If you didn't find what you need, please contact us. Some questions may be answered in our FAQ.